Champions League T20 2013

The 2013Champions League Twenty20 or CL T20 countdown is almost in the end. The international Twenty20 cricket tournament is going to thrill the world again from 17th   September, 2013. This year the tournament will continue till 6th October in various stadiums in India. Total 10 Domestic T20 Teams will be participating in this Tournament. Eight teams – Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Trinidad & Tobago, Highveld Lions, Perth Scorchers, Titans and Brisbane Heat will get direct entry to the tournament. There are other four teams named – Sunrisers Hyderabad, Otago Volts, Faisalabad Wolves and SLC will play qualifying matches and two teams will qualify for CL T20.

This year Champions League T20 2013 will feature new team West Indian champions – Trinidad & Tobago. So, there will be an extra craze for the new team. Like previous years the total prize money for the 2013 CL T20 is US$6 million. In addition to the prize money, each team receives a participation fee of $500,000. The prize money will be distributed as follows:

  • $200,000 – Each team eliminated in the group stage
  • $500,000 – Each semi-finalist
  • $1.3 million – Runners-up
  • $2.5 million – Winners

ESPN and Star Sports are the official broadcasters and you can watch CL T20 live streaming on Internet or your television by tuning to ESPN or Star Sports. For Ball by Ball updates of each individual matches and live streaming you can also visit official website of CL T20. Karbonn Smart is the title sponsor of this 2013 Champions League T20. You can buy CL T20 2013 tickets either online or from the venues of individual matches. You can also download CLT20 Apps for iPhone and Android to get the latest updates on your smartphone.

Champions League T20 2013 Teams: This year in the 5th edition of Champions League T20 2013 is total 10 teams tournament.

  • Chennai Super Kings (India)– Runners-up of 2013 Indian Premier League
  • Mumbai Indians (India)– Winners of 2013 Indian Premier League
  • Rajasthan Royals(India) – Third place holder of 2013 Indian Premier League
  • Trinidad & Tobago(West Indies) – Winners of 2012–13 Caribbean Twenty20
  • Highveld Lions (South Africa)– Winners of 2012–13 Ram Slam T20 Challenge
  • Perth Scorchers (Australia)- Runner-ups of 2012–13 Big Bash League
  • Titans (South Africa)- Runner-ups of 2012–13 Ram Slam T20 Challenge
  • Brisbane Heat (Australia) – Winners of 2012–13 Big Bash League
  • TBD – Top 2 in Qualifying stage
  • TBD – Top 2 in Qualifying stage

Qualified teams for qualifying stage:

  • Sunrisers Hyderabad (India)- Fourth place holder of 2013 Indian Premier League
  • Otago Volts (New Zealand)– Winners of 2012–13 HRV Cup
  • Faisalabad Wolves (Pakistan)– Winners of 2012–13 Faysal Bank Super Eight T20 Cup
  • Kandurata Maroons (Sri Lanka) – Winners of Super 4′s Twenty20

CL T20 2013 Format of the game: The CL T20 2013 tournament features a Group stage and qualifying stage. Group stage consists Eight (8) teams and Qualifying stage consists Four (4) teams. Group stage’s teams received direct entry in the tournament. But the Qualifying stage teams playing a round-robin tournament from which the top two teams qualify for the group stage.

The group stage has the teams divided into two groups of five teams and each group plays a round-robin tournament. The top two teams of each group advances to the knockout stage. The knockout stage consists of two semi-finals, with the top team of one group facing the second from the other. The winners of the semi-finals play the grand finale to determine the winners of the competition. Matches ending with the scores level are decided by a Super Over, where the winners of the Super Over are declared winners of the match.

The points awards to the teams such as follows –

  • Winning teams will awarded – 4 points
  • If matches stopped (No results) – 2 points divided
  • Loss – 0 points